Pink at the BMI Pop Awards

Broadcast Music, Inc, honored dynamic singer-songwriter P!nk with the BMI President’s Award for her outstanding achievement in songwriting and global impact on pop culture and the entertainment industry at the Company’s 63rd annual Pop Awards, held last night at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, California. The event also included naming the songwriters and publishers behind the year’s most-performed pop songs, as well as the Songwriter, Song and Publisher of the Year awards.

As the 2015 President’s Award recipient, P!nk joins an elite list of past honorees that includes Adam Levine, Juanes, Kike Santander, Taylor Swift, Emilio and Gloria Estefan, Pitbull and Willie Nelson.

Taylor Swift, Tim Bergling a.k.a. Avicii, Benny Blanco, Ed Sheeran and Noel Zancanella all earned the coveted BMI Pop Songwriter of the Year title with each penning three songs on the most-performed list: Swift composed “22,” “Everything Has Changed,” and “Shake It Off;” Bergling wrote “Hey Brother,” “Wake Me Up,” while also co-penning Coldplay’s “Sky Full of Stars;” Blanco co-wrote Iggy Azalea’s “Black Widow,” Maroon 5’s “Maps,” and Rixton’s “Me and My Broken Heart;” Sheeran was honored for co-penning “Lego House,” “Sing” and Swift’s “Everything Has Changed;” and Zancanella co-wrote Ellie Goulding’s “Burn,” Maroon 5’s “Maps,” and Demi Lovato’s “Neon Lights.”

John Legend clinched the BMI Pop Song of the Year honor for co-writing “All of Me.” With 27 songs among the year’s most-performed, Sony/ATV Publishing claimed the prestigious BMI Pop Publisher of the Year crystal.

The musical tribute to P!nk featured pop-folk duo The Weepies and alt-country purveyor Brandi Carlile. The Weepies offered a powerful rendition of P!nk’s “F*ckin’ Perfect,” while Carlile commandeered “Who Knew.” Alecia Moore (P!nk) then joined troubadour Dallas Green on stage as You+Me for a trio of songs including “You and Me,” “Unbeliever” and “Open Door.” Closing out the evening, P!nk was joined by Billy Mann for a meaningful rendition of “Dear Mr. President.”

The 63nd annual BMI Pop Awards were hosted by BMI Vice President and General Manager, Writer/Publisher Relations, Barbara Cane, and BMI President and CEO Mike O’Neill.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.